Members-only Contact Us English Fran├žais

Certification

Note to employers:

Candidates who meet the criteria to apply to write the Canadian certification examination through Pathway A,B,C or D are considered to be 'Board Eligible'. This term is used by the candidate at their discretion. The Certification Board does not deem a candidate eligible to write the examination until their application has been approved.


The Value of a Canadian Certified Genetic Counsellor (CCGC) (pamphlet)



Applications to write the 2019 certification examination are now closed. Applications for the 2020 certification examination will open in early 2020.

 

Upcoming exam dates:

Friday, August 28, 2020

Friday, August 20, 2021

 

Candidates are eligible to write any of the first three available examinations OR within three years following completion of their program requirements, which ever comes first:

Year of graduation

Eligible to write in year:

2018

2019, 2020

2019

2019, 2020, 2021*

2020

2020, 2021**

*Candidates have two attempts to write the examination

**The exam following 2021 will either be 2022 OR 2023

 

Candidates graduating prior to 2018 can apply to write the exam through pathway B or C, provided the criteria is met.

 

2020 Examination Details

The date of the next Certification Examination will be Friday, August 28, 2020.

 

Application Deadline and Examination Fees:

Early Application Deadline: TBA

Late Application Deadline:  TBA

 

Pathways A, B and C

The University of Montreal has been granted Pathway C status for the 2019 and 2020 examinations. Genetic counsellors who have graduated in 2018, 2019, and 2020 from the University of Montreal can apply to write the 2019 or 2020 Certification Examination through a streamlined Pathway C. 

Early Application fee: TBA

Late Application fee: TBA

 

Pathway D

Early Application fee: TBA

Late Application fee: TBA

 

Re-write Application fee: TBA

 


The Canadian Association of Genetic Counsellors (CAGC) is committed to ensuring that individuals seeking genetic counselling services in Canada are receiving these services from an individual with a high level of competency. The process of certification and recertification has been adopted by most professional organizations as a mechanism for assessing and maintaining the knowledge and skills of its practitioners.

 

The CAGC certification process consists of a certification exam, which will be offered on an annual basis starting in 2019. Eligible candidates must demonstrate that they have been significantly involved in the evaluation and counselling of patients seeking genetic information and that they have the experience and expertise that is attributed to genetic counsellors. The CAGC Knowledge-Based Competencies is the basis for CAGC Certification Board exam questions.

 

Eligible candidates may apply through one of six pathways. Candidates are responsible for completing the correct application forms in order to be considered. Detailed information regarding the application requirements for each pathway can be found in the Certification Handbook. Please note that there have been changes to the logbook requirements for Pathway A applicants. Please review the Certification Handbook closely to determine if you require a logbook.

 

Candidates will be contacted by email regarding their application eligibility to sit the examination and with their examination results. Certificates will be mailed to successful candidates.

 

Appeals regarding the CAGC Certification must be lodged, in writing, to the Administrative Office of the CAGC within 3 months from the date the examination results are received. A cheque in the amount of $75 to cover the fee for the appeal must accompany the application. Please read the Procedure for Appeals of the Certification Examination before submitting an appeal.

Forms

Certification Handbook (Jan 2020)

Logbook Instructions

Logbook Form

Description of Clinical Training 

Program Director Statement

 

 

Questions regarding the certification process and completed applications should be directed to the Certification Board Chair.

Réservé aux membres Contactez-nous English Français

Accréditation

Message aux employeurs:

Les candidats qui répondent aux critères pour appliquer à l'examen d'accréditation canadienne via les Voies A, B, C ou D sont considérés « éligibles ». Ce terme est utilisé par le candidat à sa discrétion. Le Comité d'accréditation ne considère par un candidat éligible à passer l'examen tant que sa demande d'application n'a pas été approuvée.


Les conseillers en génétique agréés du Canada (pamphlet, français)


Nous n'acceptons plus les applications pour l'examen de 2019. Les applications pour l'accréditation et l'examen de 2020 seront acceptées au début de 2020.

 

Dates des prochains examens:

vendredi le 28 août 2020

vendredi le 20 août 2021

 

Les candidats/es sont éligibles à passer l’examen selon la première de ces deux éventualités : l’un des trois premiers examens disponibles OU dans les trois ans après avoir complété les exigences de leur programme.

Année de graduation Éligibilité à passer l’examen
2018 2019, 2020
2019 2019, 2020, 2021*
2020 2020, 2021**

*Les candidats/es ont deux essais pour passer l'examen

**L'examen qui suivra celui de 2021 sera en 2022 OU 2023

Les candidats qui ont gradué avant 2018 peuvent appliquer à l’examen d’accréditation via les Voies B ou C à condition que les critères soient remplis.

Détails pour l’examen de 2020:

La date du prochain examen d’accréditation sera vendredi le 28 août 2020

 

Dates limites pour les demandes d’application et frais d’examen:

Date limite de candidature: à suivre

Date limite tardive: à suivre

 

Voies A, B et C

L'Université de Montréal a obtenu le statut pour la Voie C pour les examens d’accréditation de 2019 et 2020. Les conseillers en génétique de l'Université de Montréal qui auront gradué en 2018, 2019 et 2020 pourront présenter une demande d'application pour passer l'examen d’accréditation en 2019 ou 2020 par la Voie C.

Frais de demande: à suivre

Frais de demande tardive: à suivre

 

Voie D

Frais de demande: à suivre

Frais de demande tardive: à suivre

 

Frais de demande, réécriture de l'examen: à suivre

 


L'Association canadienne des conseillers en génétique (ACCG) s'est engagée à faire en sorte que toute personne à la recherche de services en conseil génétique au Canada reçoive ces services de la part d’une personne hautement compétente. Des processus d’accréditation et de renouvellement d’accréditation ont été adoptés par la plupart des organisations professionnelles comme moyen d’évaluation des connaissances et des compétences de ses praticiens.

 

Le processus d’accréditation de l’ACCG consiste en un examen d’accréditation qui sera offert sur une base annuelle à partir de 2019. Les candidats éligibles doivent démontrer qu'ils ont été impliqués de manière significative dans l'évaluation et le conseil de patients à la recherche d'informations génétiques et qu'ils possèdent l'expérience et l'expertise attribuées aux conseillers en génétique. Les Compétences fondées sur le savoir de l’ACCG constituent la base des questions d'examen du Comité d’accréditation de l’ACCG.

 

Les candidats éligibles peuvent appliquer via l’une des six voies. Les candidats sont responsables de remplir les formulaires de demande requis afin que leur demande soit considérée. Des informations détaillées concernant les exigences d’application pour chacune des voies se trouvent dans le Guide du candidat. Veuillez noter que des modifications ont été apportées concernant les exigences du registre de cas pour les candidats à la Voie A. Veuillez consulter attentivement le Guide du candidat pour déterminer si vous avez besoin d’un registre de cas.

 

Les candidats seront contactés par courriel concernant leur admissibilité à passer l'examen et avec leurs résultats d’examen. Les diplômes seront postés aux candidats qui auront réussi l’examen.

 

Les demandes d’appels concernant l’Accréditation de l’ACCG doivent être déposées, par écrit, au Bureau administratif de l’ACCG dans les trois mois suivant la date de réception des résultats d’examen. Un chèque au montant de 75$ pour couvrir les frais d’appel doit accompagner la demande d’application. Veuillez consulter le document « Procédure d’appel de l’examen d’accréditation » (en anglais seulement) avant de soumettre un appel.

 

Les Formulaires

Guide du candidat (janvier 2020)

Les instructions pour le registre de cas

Registre de cas 

Description de la formation clinique

Déclaration du directeur de programme

 

Certains documents sont disponibles en anglais pour le moment et seront éventuellement traduits en français. Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à contacter le Comité d’Accréditation.

 

Pour les questions concernant le processus d’accréditation ou pour soumettre vos formulaires complétés, veuillez vous adresser au président du comité d’accréditation de l’ACCG.